2023 winners selected for the Page/Acorn Engineering Scholarship

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

In May the Acorn Foundation announced the recipients of the 2023 Page/Acorn Engineering Scholarship. The scholarships are awarded annually to second-year apprentices at local engineering firms, thanks to local Acorn donors Bob and Pat Page.

Recipients and their respective workplaces will receive funding for two years to assist with expenses and equipment.

Recipients of the 2023 Page/Acorn Engineering Scholarship are:

  • Adriaan Meyer, Otūmoetai: Boshier Engineering
  • Bailey Snowling, Te Puke: Page Macrae Engineering
  • Eron Manabat, Ohauiti: Page Macrae Engineering
  • Ezra Keenan, Whakamarama: Robert Page Engineering Limited
  • Joshua Conroy, Te Puke: Page Macrae Engineering
  • Lewis Graham, Poike: Page Macrae Engineering
  • Te Mawae McAllister, Te Puke, Impact Engineering

An evening awards ceremony is held every second year to celebrate scholarship winners with their families and workplace representative – this event will take place next year.

The Page/Acorn Engineering Scholarship was established in 2008 by the late Bob and Pat Page to reward and encourage apprentices who go above and beyond expectations. Bob Page co­founded local firm Page and Macrae Engineering in 1953 and was passionate about seeing young people succeed.

Nearly 70 apprentices and their workplaces across the Western Bay of Plenty have received support thanks to the generosity of Bob and Pat Page.

Lori Luke, CEO of the Acorn Foundation, said “Every year we look forward to awarding these deserving apprentices this scholarship, and we get a lot of satisfaction from seeing them succeed in their chosen career. Bob and Pat Page would be absolutely thrilled that their dream of assisting local apprentices to achieve their goals has come so far.”

Related: Winners selected for the Page/Acorn Engineering Scholarship

Related Articles